Metrick Named to D2CCA Atlantic Region Baseball Team

Metrick Named to D2CCA Atlantic Region Baseball Team

MILLERSVILL, (Pa.) – The D2CCA All-Atlantic Region Baseball teams and award winners were announced on Thursday with Shepherd University shortstop Tre Porter being voted the region's player of the year and Millersville's Brandon Miller voted the pitcher of the year.

The D2CCA teams are voted on by sports information directors in the respective regions. The 16 members of the first team will advance to the national ballot for All-America consideration.

Porter led Shepherd to a 37-13 record, a Mountain East Conference Championship and NCAA Division II Atlantic Region Tournament berth by hitting .385 with 19 home runs, 45 RBIs and an .822 slugging percentage. Porter also stole 21 bases in 26 attempts. He ranked eighth in Division II in home runs.

Miller was the No. 1 starter on a 47-5 Millersville club that scored a nationally No. 1 ranking during the regular season. Miller went 10-1 with five complete games, a 1.67 ERA and 89 strikeouts to just 10 walks over 80 2/3 innings. Miller's 0.71 WHIP ranks first in Division II. He also ranks sixth in hits allowed per nine innings.

Eight of the 32 players make their second consecutive appearances on the all-region teams. Millersville's Chas McCormick (OF), Seton Hill's Chris Miller (DH) and Shepherd's Sam Crater (SP) are back-to-back first team selections. Millersville's Dan Stoltzfus (1B), Millersville's Brandon Miller (SP) and Mercyhurst's Colin McKee, moved up to the first team after second team honors in 2015. California's Mick Fennell is on the second team for the second consecutive season.

West Virginia Wesleyan sophomore pitcher Chris Metrick was named to the second team.

He ended the year with a Mountain East Conference leading 11 saves.

He owned a 3-0 record in 22 appearances.


Player of the Year -  Tre Porter, SS, Shepherd


Pitcher of the Year – Brandon Miller, Millersville 



C – Mitch Stoltzfus, Millersville

1B – Dan Stoltzfus, Millersville (2)

2B – Jay Young, East Stroudsburg

3B –  Drew Hercik, East Stroudsburg

SS – Tre Porter, Shepherd

OF – Robert Bennie, East Stroudsburg

OF – J.J. Sarty, Shepherd

OF – Chas McCormick, Millersville (1)

DH – Chris Miller, Seton Hill (1) *

UTILITY (P) – Steve Klaiber, Virginia-Wise

UTILITY  (non-P) – Jared Wiesen, Gannon

SP – Brandon Miller, Millersville (2)

SP – Colin McKee, Mercyhurst (2)

SP – Matt Festa, East Stroudsburg

SP – Sam Crater, Shepherd (1)

RP – Curtis Johnson, West Virginia State



C – Anthony Fanelli, Seton Hill

1B – Zac Heide, Seton Hill

2B – Brendan Cox, Mercyhurst

3B – Austin Alonge, Mercyhurst

SS – Tyler Orris, Millersville

OF – Jeremy Musser, Millersville

OF – Mick Fennell, California (Pa.) (2)

OF – Austin Edgette, Bloomsburg

DH – Tyler Walters, Slippery Rock

UTILITY (P) – Dan Sepic, Indiana (Pa.)

UTILITY  (non-P) – Zach Cooper, Chowan

SP – Perry DellaValle, Seton Hill

SP – Cam Knott, Mercyhurst

SP – Jim McDade, Millersville

SP – Dustin Kincaid, West Virginia State

RP – Chris Metrick, West Virginia Wesleyan


(1)  - Previous first team selection

(2) – Previous second team selection

* - Selected to first team as a catcher in 2015