Koon, Metrick Named to All-MEC Baseball First Team

Koon, Metrick Named to All-MEC Baseball First Team

BRIDGEPORT -- The Mountain East Conference today announced its top individual award winners for the 2017 season with Concord's Chad Frazier taking Player of the Year honors, while Shepherd ace Ryan Pansch earned Pitcher of the Year accolades. UVa-Wise's Nate Thompson was tabbed as the MEC Freshman of the Year, and Fairmont State's Phil Caruso was selected as the league's Coach of the Year.

Frazier, a junior from Roanoke, Va., is the league's Player of the Year after leading the MEC in hits (79), batting average (.425) and runs (72). He had 19 extra-base hits and drove in 43, while also stealing 15 bases. Frazier was also stellar defensively leading starting shortstops in fielding percentage (.949) committing just 11 errors.
Pansch, a junior from Charles Town, W.Va., is the MEC Pitcher of the Year after going a perfect 8-0 with a 2.55 ERA. He tossed three complete games and opponents batted just .228 against him. Pansch struck out 58 and allowed just 11 walks in 60.0 innings of work.

Thompson, a native of Wise, Va., did it all for the Cavs in his freshman season playing first and in the outfield, as well as serving as a relief pitcher and designated hitter. He hit .328 on the year with 22 RBI and 16 runs scored. As a pitcher he made nine appearances with four starts posting a 2-2 record with two saves and a 1.65 ERA. In addition to being the league's Freshman of the Year, Thompson was named to the All-MEC second team as both a utility player and relief pitcher.

Caruso is the MEC Coach of the Year after leading the Fighting Falcons to a 28-22 overall record. FSU went 20-12 in the MEC to earn its first MEC Tournament berth. After inheriting a program that went 9-34, he has led Fairmont State to back-to-back 20-win seasons and its first winning record in over a decade.

West Virginia Wesleyan placed three players on the All-Conference Team.

Senior outfielder John Koon (pictured) and junior closer Chris Metrick were named to the First Team while freshman outfielder Austin Keene was selected to the Second Team.

The All-MEC teams and awards are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

All-MEC First Team
Pos. Name School Cl. Hometown
C Paul Williams Concord Jr. Vinton,Va.
1B Trevor Wiersma Concord So. Vancouver, British Columbia
2B Vincent Haddox West Liberty Jr. Newell, W.Va.
SS Chad Frazier Concord Jr. Roanoke, Va.
3B Chase Hoffman Shepherd Jr. Middletown, Md.
Utility Jacob Carney Shepherd Sr. Stephens City, Va.
DH Johnny Kesling Fairmont State Jr. Fairmont, W.Va.
OF John Koon W.Va. Wesleyan Sr. Bridgeport, W.Va.
OF Austin Norman Fairmont State Jr. Fairmont, W.Va.
OF J.J. Sarty Shepherd Sr. Purcellville, Va.
OF Evan Webb Concord So. Whitby, Ontario
SP Troy Beckner Concord So. Roanoke, Va.
SP Yale Hughes West Liberty Sr. Cortland, N.Y.
SP Ryan Pansch Shepherd Jr. Charles Town, W.Va.
SP Michael Stout Fairmont State So. St. Mary's, W.Va. 
RP Chris Metrick W.Va. Wesleyan Jr. Beckley, W.Va.
All-MEC Second Team
Pos. Name School Cl. Hometown
C John Peloro Glenville State So. Weeki Wachee, Fla.
1B Brent West Urbana Sr. Mechanicsville, Va.
2B Zach Bacon Glenville State So. Seminole, Fla.
SS Lee Carneal Charleston Sr. Charlottesville, Va.
3B Nathan Neff Concord Fr. Fredericksburg, Va.
Utility Nate Thompson UVa-Wise Fr. Wise, Va.
DH Jordan Clark Concord So. Scott Depot, W.Va.
OF Brenton Doyle Shepherd Fr. Warrenton, Va.
OF Austin Hathaway Charleston So. Fredericktown, Ohio
OF Yale Hughes West Liberty Sr. Cortland, N.Y.
OF Austin Keene W.Va. Wesleyan Fr. Largo, Fla.
SP Michael Finch Wheeling Jesuit Jr. Norwalk, Ohio
SP Adam Guay Urbana Sr. Carrollton, Texas
SP Austin Henrich Charleston Fr. Poca, W.Va.
SP Adam Jafine Charleston Jr. Toronto, Ontario
SP Greg Stagani West Liberty Sr. Richmond, Ohio
RP Nate Thompson UVa-Wise Fr. Wise, Va.
All-MEC Honorable Mention
C: Tyler Hill (FSU); 1B: Phil Mandt (WVSU); 2B: Austin Barnhart (NDC); SS: Isac Franklin (UU), 3B: Jack Brunetti (UC); Utility: Jacob Whitmore (FSU); DH: Mike Adams (WLU); OF: Danny Beaver (NDC), T.J. Lett (NDC), Ben Myers (FSU)
SP: John Bentley (SU), Colby Gainer (WVSU), Jeff Stover (NDC), Nate Werner (CU); RP: Tori Fuscardo (WLU)
Top Honors
Freshman of the Year: Nate Thompson (WISE)
Player of the Year: Chad Frazier (CU)
Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Pansch (SU)
Coach of the Year: Phil Caruso (FSU)