Metrick Selected to ABCA/Rawlings Atlantic Region Team

Metrick Selected to ABCA/Rawlings Atlantic Region Team

BUCKHANNON -- The 2017 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America Committee.

West Virginia Wesleyan placed one student-athlete on the 2017 Atlantic-ABCA/Rawlings All-Atlantic Region team.

Junior closer Chris Metrick (Beckley, W. Va.) was named to the Second Team.

He had a hand in 14 of Wesleyan's 23 wins this season as he was a perfect 6-0 on the mound with eight saves.

He allowed just eight earned runs in 39 innings for an earned-run-average of 1.85. He averaged more than a strikeout an inning with 46 total.

Metrick led the MEC in saves and was a recent All-MEC First Teamer.

He is now just one save away from tying the Wesleyan all-time saves record for a career at 21.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans will be announced on Tuesday, May 30. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team will be announced on Wednesday, June 21.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Rudy Garbalosa of Lynn University. Also on the committee are Jim Gantt of Catawba College, Harry Hillson of Mansfield University, Rick Giannetti of Dominican College, Rob Penders of St. Edwards University, Kyle Poock of Winona State University, Jamie Detillion of Grand Valley State University and Randy Betten of Cal Poly Pomona.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its more than 8,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 74th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 4-7, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

For a complete list of the 2017 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Region teams, please click here.