Metrick Named to D2CCA All-Atlantic Region First Team

Metrick Named to D2CCA All-Atlantic Region First Team

MILLERSVILLE, Pa. – The post season awards keep rolling in for West Virginia Wesleyan junior closer Chris Metrick.

Metrick (Beckley, W. Va.) was recently named to the 2017 D2CCA All-Atlantic Region First Team.

This honor goes along with being named to the ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Region Team, the NCBWA All-Atlantic Region Team, the Mountain East Conference All-Tournament Team and the MEC All-First Team.

Metrick had a hand in 14 of Wesleyan's 23 wins this season as he was a perfect 6-0 on the mound with eight saves.

He allowed just eight earned runs in 39 innings for an earned-run-average of 1.85. He averaged more than a strikeout an inning with a total of 46.

Metrick led the MEC in saves this past season.

He is now just one save away from tying the Wesleyan all-time saves record for a career at 21

Wesleyan finished third in the MEC post-season tournament and concluded the season with a 23-30 record.

The complete team is listed below.
Player of the Year: Chris Gonzalez, Mercyhurst
Pitcher of the Year: Russell Lamovec, Mercyhurst

C – Tyler Walters, Slippery Rock
1B – Jake Kennedy, Shippensburg (2) *
2B – Chris Gonzalez, Mercyhurst
3B – Levi Krause, California (Pa.)
SS – Chad Frazier, Concord
OF – J.J. Sarty, Shepherd (1)
OF – Chas McCormick, Millersville (1) (1)
OF – Jimmy Latona, Mercyhurst
DH – Johnny Kesling, Fairmont State
UTILITY (P) – Zack Cooper, Chowan (2)
UTILITY (NON-P) – Drew Delsignore, Mercyhurst
SP – Russell Lamovec, Mercyhurst
SP – Ryan Pansch, Shepherd
SP – Seth Reeves, Winston-Salem State
SP – Eli Nabholz, Millersville
RP – Chris Metrick, W.Va. Wesleyan (2)

C – David Markins, Virginia State
1B – David Marcus, California (Pa.)
2B – Ivan Acuna, Winston-Salem State
3B – Chase Hoffman, Shepherd
3B – Ryan McMillen, Shippensburg
SS – Cameron Balego, Mercyhurst
OF – Austin Norman, Fairmont State
OF – Mark Colella, Seton Hill
OF – Jahleel Sewer, Virginia State
DH – Shane Dressler, West Chester
UTILITY (P) – Ian Allen, East Stroudsburg
UTILITY (NON-P) – Tom McCarthy, Seton Hill
SP – Chris Vallimont, Mercyhurst
SP – Mike Cipolla, West Chester
SP – Tyler Eckman, East Stroudsburg
SP – Vincenzo Lucente, Mercyhurst
RP – Josh McClain, West Chester
(1) - Previous first team selection
(2) – Previous second team selection
* - All-Region as a catcher in 2015