Nick West Named to All-MEC Honorable Mention Team

Nick West Named to All-MEC Honorable Mention Team

BRIDGEPORT -- The University of Charleston's Viktor Pustwo headlines the 2016-17 Mountain East Conference Men's Golf honors as the league's Player of the Year. UVa-Wise's Alex Arnold is the Freshman of the Year, while West Liberty's Mike Ricci was tabbed as the Coach of the Year.

Pustwo, a native of Saint-Tropez, France, led all players in select MEC events with a scoring average of 73.14. He was the only pair to break 70 in two of those rounds carding 68s at the MEC Fall Classic and this week at the MEC Spring Classic.

West Liberty placed three players on the first team in Cory Hoshor, Matt Iceton and Mike Rogers. Shepherd had two first team honorees in Joe Burkinshaw and Ryan Crabtree.

Wheeling Jesuit had three players earn second team recognition in Eric Dargis, Gian Franco Morassuti and Nolan Tisch. Lewis Fenn and Cody Kotva of Charleston were also on the second team, along with WLU's Joey Cilone and UVa-Wise's Jacob Smith. 

Arnold led all freshmen with a 77.43 scoring average to take Freshman of the Year honors. Arnold's season was highlighted by a tie for first at the MEC Championship last fall where he eventually lost in a playoff. He earned All-MEC honorable mention honors along with Trey Euler (Shepherd), Rodney Howell (Urbana), Nick West (West Virginia Wesleyan).

In addition to having four players earn All-MEC honors, West Liberty head coach Mike Ricci guided the team to four victories in the fall, and one more already this spring as the Hilltoppers won the MEC Spring Classic. WLU held the top spot in last week's NCAA Regional Rankings for the first time in school history, as well.

The All-MEC teams, along with Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors, are determined by scoring average from seven rounds at select MEC events. The MEC Coach of the Year is determined by a vote of the league's coaches.

2016-17 All-MEC First Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Joe Burkinshaw Shepherd Sr. Germantown, Md.
Ryan Crabtree Shepherd Sr. Williamsport, Md.
Cory Hoshor West Liberty Jr. Buffalo, W.Va.
Matt Iceton West Liberty Sr. Whitby, Ontario
Viktor Pustwo Charleston Sr. Saint-Tropez, France
Mike Rogers West Liberty Jr. Follansbee, W.Va.
2016-17 All-MEC Second Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Joey Cilone West Liberty Jr. East Liverpool, Ohio
Eric Dargis Wheeling Jesuit Jr. Vineland, N.J.
Lewis Fenn Charleston Jr. Dunbar, Scotland
Cody Kotva Charleston Sr. Barrie, Ontario
Gian Franco Morassuti Wheeling Jesuit So. Valencia, Venezuela
Jacob Smith UVa-Wise So. Strasburg, Va.
Nolan Tisch Wheeling Jesuit Sr. Smithville, Ohio
2016-17 All-MEC Honorable Mention
Name School Cl. Hometown
Alex Arnold UVa-Wise Fr. Wytheville, Va. 
Trey Euler Shepherd Fr. Mt. Airy, Md.
Rodney Howell Urbana Jr. Pickerington, Ohio
Nick West W.Va. Wesleyan Jr. Bethesda, Md.
Erik Williams Shepherd Sr. Frederick, Md.
Player of the Year: Viktor Pustwo (Charleston)
Freshman of the Year: Alex Arnold (UVa-Wise)
Coach of the Year: Mike Ricci (West Liberty)