Tennis 'Cats Land Three on All-MEC First Team

Tennis 'Cats Land Three on All-MEC First Team

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. -- West Liberty's Baptiste Perrin headlines the Mountain East Conference Men's Tennis awards as the league's Player of the Year, while Fairmont State's Lucas Alves was named Freshman of the Year, and Falcons head coach Kyle Hoffman was tabbed as the Coach of the Year. 

Perrin, a senior from Rognes, France, posted a 16-5 record in singles this year. He went a perfect 7-0 at No. 1 singles in MEC play, losing just one set along the way. Perrin also teamed with Santiago Gutierrez to go 16-4 at No. 1 doubles for the Hilltoppers. 

Alves, a native of Lins, Brazil, went 15-12 at No. 1 singles for the Fighting Falcons, including a 5-2 mark in the MEC. He played No. 2 doubles with Matias Higueras and went 13-9, also going 5-2 in MEC play. He was also a first team All-MEC selection.

Hoffman earned Coach of the Year honors for a second-straight season. He helped lead FSU to a share of the MEC regular season title, its first conference championship in the sport since 1989. He also has the Fighting Falcons in the NCAA Regional Rankings for the first time in school history. 

In addition to the award winners, the league also announced the all-conference teams. The three co-champions had seven of the nine members on the first team led by three from West Virginia Wesleyan in Lukas Laipold, Ramon Rodriguez and Nathan Sabate. Fairmont State had two first team honorees in Alves and Micah Hornak, as did West Liberty with Perrin and Gutierrez. Charleston's Alec Foote and Ben Lakeman were also first team selections.

The second team consists of Kaleb Ball (West Virginia State), Carter Davis (Shepherd), Jamie Gibson (Charleston), Alexander Lyudinovskiy (West Virginia Wesleyan), Camilo Moncayo (West Liberty), Gui Pachane (Fairmont State) and Matt Tully (West Liberty).

The All-MEC teams and awards are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

2016-17 All-MEC First Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Lucas Alves Fairmont State Fr. Lins, Brazil
Alec Foote Charleston Sr. Manchester, England
Santiago Gutierrez West Liberty Sr. Barranquilla, Colombia
Micah Hornak Fairmont State Sr. Morgantown, W.Va.
Lukas Laipold W.Va. Wesleyan Fr. Premstatten, Austria
Ben Lakeman Charleston Fr. Penzance Cornwall, England
Baptiste Perrin West Liberty Sr. Rognes, France
Ramon Rodriguez W.Va. Wesleyan Jr. Porlamar, Venezuela
Nathan Sabate W.Va. Wesleyan Sr. Lleida, Spain
2016-17 All-MEC Second Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Kaleb Ball W.Va. State Sr. Hurricane, W.Va.
Carter Davis Shepherd Fr. Harpers Ferry, W.Va.
Jamie Gibson Charleston Jr. Warwick, England
Alexander Lyudinovskiy W.Va. Wesleyan Fr. Malaga, Spain
Camilo Moncayo West Liberty So. Pasto, Colombia
Gui Pachane Fairmont State Fr. Piracicaba, Brazil
Matt Tully West Liberty Sr. Birmingham, England
Player of the Year: Baptiste Perrin (West Liberty)
Freshman of the Year: Lucas Alves (Fairmont State)
Coach of the Year: Kyle Hoffman (Fairmont State)


Photographed: L-R: L-R Nathan Sabate, Alexander Lyudinovskiy, Lukas Laipold, Ramon Rodriguez.