Katie Casey Named to 2016-17 All-MEC First Team

Katie Casey Named to 2016-17 All-MEC First Team

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. -- Concord's Natalia Jornet took home top honors from the Mountain East Conference win women's golf after earning Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year honors. Additionally, the University of Charleston's Will Johnson was named the league's Coach of the Year for the second-straight year. 

Jornet, a native of Torranga, Spain, led all players this year with a 76.57 scoring average. Jornet was medalist at each of the MEC's selected events, including the MEC Championship last fall at Glade Springs. 

Joining Jornet on the first team were the Notre Dame duo of Macie Hysell and Brianna Stokes, along with West Virginia Wesleyan's Katie Casey (pictured far left), Charleston's Lauren Crouse and UVa-Wise's Katie Pritchett.

Wheeling Jesuit had a pair of honorees on the second team in Leah Baughman and Bridget Lynn, as did Charleston in Lizzy Karsten and Alyssa Wrozier. West Liberty's Kaitlyn Bliss and West Virginia Wesleyan's Sandra Brink also earned second team honors.

The All-MEC teams, along with Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors, are determined by scoring average from seven rounds at select MEC events. The MEC Coach of the Year is determined by a vote of the league's coaches.

2016-17 All-MEC First Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Katie Casey W.Va. Wesleyan Sr. North Canton, Ohio
Lauren Crouse Charleston Jr. Glastonbury, Conn.
Macie Hysell Notre Dame Fr. Ravenna, Ohio
Natalia Jornet Concord Fr. Tarragona, Spain
Katie Pritchett UVa-WIse Fr. Dry Fork, Va.
Brianna Stokes Notre Dame Sr. Bellevue, Ohio
2016-17 All-MEC Second Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Leah Baughman Wheeling Jesuit Jr. Zanesville, Ohio
Kaitlyn Bliss West Liberty Sr. Bridgeport, Ohio
Sandra Brink W.Va. Wesleyan Fr. Hasselby, Swededn
Lizzy Karsten Charleston Fr. Rochester, N.Y.
Bridget Lynn Wheeling Jesuit Jr. Lemont, Ill.
Alyssa Wrozier Charleston Fr. St. Louis, Mo.
2016-17 All-MEC Honorable Mention
Name School Cl. Hometown
Kelsey Albright Charleston So. Point Pleasant, W.Va. 
Katie Brownschidle UVa-WIse Jr. Yorktown, Va.
Becca Davis W.Va. Wesleyan So. Orefield, Pa.
Katelyn Sanders Concord Fr. Oceana, W.Va.
Marci Schneider Wheeling Jesuit Jr. West Union, Ohio
Rachel Williamson Notre Dame Jr. Youngstown, Ohio
Player of the Year: Natalia Jornet (Concord)
Freshman of the Year: Natalia Jornet (Concord)
Coach of the Year: Will Johnson (Charleston)ll