Heigermoser Named MEC Tennis Freshman of the Year

Heigermoser Named MEC Tennis Freshman of the Year

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. -- The Mountain East Conference today announced its annual women's tennis awards with West Virginia Wesleyan's Rebekka Heigermoser (pictured), West Virginia State's Laura Isbey and Yellow Jackets coach John Simms earning top honors.

Heigermoser is the MEC Freshman of the Year after going 7-2 this fall playing both No. 1 and No. 2 singles for the Lady Bobcats. The native of Bavaria, Germany, posted key singles wins against Charleston and West Liberty, and suffered her only singles loss in conference play against Isbey. She also went 5-3 at No. 2 doubles. 

Isbey, last year's conference Freshman of the Year, is this year's MEC Player of the Year after going undefeated at No. 1 singles this fall. The sophomore from Auckland, New Zealand, also went 4-2 at No. 1 doubles as the Yellow Jackets captured the conference regular season title.

Simms earns his fourth-consecutive Coach of the Year honors after leading the Yellow Jackets to another Mountain East Conference regular season championship. In fact, WVSU has yet to lose a conference match under Simms since the inception of the MEC in 2013. The Yellow Jackets finished conference play with a perfect 7-0 record and are the No. 1 seed at this weekend's MEC Tournament in Huntington, W. Va.  

Underclassmen dominated the first team with three freshman, four sophomores and one senior making the team. The top three seeds in this week's MEC Tournament each had two players on the first team. WVSU was represented on the first team by Isbey and Kierstin Hensley, UC placed Elise Edwards and Kristine Gegeshide and West Virginia Wesleyan placed Rebekka Heigermoser and Paula Pimenta. Trinite' Klamadji (Fairmont State) and Rhiannon James (West Liberty) round out the first team.

Nine players comprise the second team including two more from West Virginia State and Charleston, along with two players from UVa-Wise and West Liberty and one from West Virginia Wesleyan.

The All-MEC teams and awards are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

First Team All-Mountain East Conference
Name School Cl. Hometown
Elise Edwards Charleston So. Burlington, Ontario
Kristine Gegeshide Charleston Fr. Tbilisi, Georgia
Rebekka Heigermoser West Virginia Wesleyan Fr. Bavaria, Germany
Kierstin Hensley West Virginia State Fr. Ashland, Ky.
Laura Isbey West Virginia State So. Auckland, New Zealand
Rhiannon James West Liberty So. Dublin, Ohio
Trinite' Klamadji Fairmont State So. Niamey, Niger
Paula Pimenta West Virginia Wesleyan Sr. Londrina, Brazil 
Second Team All-Mountain East Conference
Name School Cl. Hometown
Raquel Cabero Quiles West Liberty Sr. Madrid, Spain
Nina Dillwald West Virginia State Jr. Castrop-Rauxel, Germany
Laura Huwe West Liberty So. Frankfurt, Germany
Toni Katipa Charleston Jr. Rotorua, New Zealand
Cecila Martinez Oliver
West Virginia Wesleyan Fr. Albox, Almeria
Aya Melhelm UVa-Wise Fr. Rockvale, Tenn.
Silvana Slusarciuc Charleston So. Timisoara, Romania
Daria Tyshchenko UVa-Wise Jr. Kirovograd, Ukraine
Marta Yevstakhevych West Virginia State Fr. Lviv, Ukraine


Player of the Year: Laura Isbey (West Virginia State)
Freshman of the Year: Rebekka Heigermoser (West Virginia Wesleyan)
Coach of the Year: John Simms (West Virginia State)