Cross Country Lady 'Cats Second at MEC Championship

Cross Country Lady 'Cats Second at MEC Championship

BRIDGEPORT—Three years of the Mountain East Conference, three years of MEC dominance by the West Virginia Wesleyan Lady Bobcat cross country team.

It was bound to happen at some point, but for the first time since the inception of the MEC in 2013, another team finally won the conference championship other than Wesleyan.

West Virginia Wesleyan garnered runner-up honors while Wheeling Jesuit won its first-ever MEC title in women's cross country Saturday morning at the Bridgeport Recreation Complex.

Wheeling Jesuit ended the race with 24 points while Wesleyan was second with 35 points.

Concord was third with 79 points. Fairmont State was fourth with 114 points, followed by Charleston (154), Notre Dame (184), West Liberty (189), Glenville State (202), UVa-Wise (232) and West Virginia State (278). 

The Lady Bobcats had five runners in the top 10 led by Sydney Pineault (pictured) in third with a time of 24:28.1.

Baylee Summers was sixth (25:15.5), Joanna Johnston claimed seventh (25:23.6), Emma Harrison placed ninth (25:48.3) and Rachael Englund was 10th (25:50.5).

All five runners earned First Team All-MEC honors.

Pineault and Summers are now three-time First-Team All-Conference runners while Johnston and Harrison are now two-time First-Team All-Conference performers.

The other two Lady Bobcat runners were Lexi Beach in 15th (26:45.8) and Laura Geldmaker in 25th (27:40.3). Beach earned Second Team All-MEC honors.

"I am really proud of the efforts our kids put forth today in the mud at the MEC Championship," remarked head coach Jesse Skiles. "Our women raced hard. We came a lot closer to the Wheeling Jesuit team than a lot of people thought we would. They gave it all they had. I am proud of them."

Wheeling Jesuit's Kelsey Chambers won the individual title with a time of 23:26.8.

WJU head coach Ricky Moore was voted as the league's Coach of the Year.

"I want to tip my cap to the Wheeling women team," concluded Skiles. "They raced like champions are supposed to race today.  We were beaten by a great team. The MEC again did a great job with the course prep and meet administration. It was a first class championship once again."


First Team All-MEC: Kelsey Chambers (WJU), Kaitlyn Workman (WJU), Sydney Pineault (WVWC), Lindsay Scheffel (WJU), Fallon Doyle (WJU), Baylee Summers (WVWC), Joanna Johnston (WVWC), Aidan Payton (CU), Emma Harrison (WVWC), Rachael Englund (WVWC).

Second Team All-MEC: Julianna Butcher (FSU), Jenna Furr (WJU), Rachael Lovett (NDC), Kenna Knowles (CU), Lexi Beach (WVWC), Logan Frame (FSU), Karleigh Thompson (CU), Bailey Knowles (CU), Kate Golinsky (CU).